Jacob’s Trinitarian Blessing

I’m currently finishing up my readings in Genesis, jotting down whatever comes to mind as I pore over the text. What I love about the Old Testament is that it in no way conflicts with the New Testament, but merely speaks the same doctrinal truths in a different way (e.g. typology, symbolism, prophecy, etc).

One such doctrinal truth is the doctrine of the Trinity. There are some who would like to attribute the doctrine to the early church fathers, labeling it a “tradition of men” that is not rooted in Scripture. Those who make these claims – some examples include: Jehovah’s Witnesses, Oneness Pentecostals, and Muslims – do not let Scripture speak for itself in a systematic fashion, but manipulate the Word of God so as to suit their own agenda.

However, the basic problem they face is that in spite of  how much of they attempt to discredit re-“translate” (i.e. blatantly mis-translate) or call “corrupt”, the remaining portions of the Word of God still attest to the truth of the doctrine of the Trinity.

A perfect case in point: Jacob’s blessing on Joseph’s sons in Genesis 48.

The passage marks the ending of Jacob’s life, and as he gets ready to “be gathered to his people,” he first blesses Joseph’s two sons. Here is the blessing:

15 And he blessed Joseph, and said:

“God, before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac walked,
The God who has fed me all my life long to this day,

16 The Angel who has redeemed me from all evil,
Bless the lads;
Let my name be named upon them,
And the name of my fathers Abraham and Isaac;
And let them grow into a multitude in the midst of the earth.”

– Genesis 48:15-16

Jacob references One God three times, each time differentiating God’s relation to him.

1. God, before whom my fathers […] walked… – God the Father

2. God who has fed me all my life long to this day – God the Holy Spirit

3. The Angel who has redeemed me from all evil – The “Angel of the LORD”, Jesus Christ – God the Son (For a more thorough look into The Angel of the Lord’s equation with Christ Jesus click here).

The blessing is singular, as is the Being who is being addressed, yet the persons mentioned are Three – equal as God, differentiated by role/relation/person. The Father is worshiped and “walked before”, the Spirit leads and feeds and guides His children, while the Angel of the LORD, the Son of God is, always has been, and always will be the Redeemer.

Amen.


6 thoughts on “Jacob’s Trinitarian Blessing

  1. Heather says:

    Wow! I went through that passage a few months ago and totally missed it. I did get to see some other things but isn’t it amazing how we can read and re-read Scripture and still learn things that we didn’t catch before.

    And then randomly drop in on someone’s blog and see something that was still obscured…

    Awesome!

    Like

    • Hiram says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Heather :)

      I know exactly what you mean. I’m about a chapter and a half away from wrapping things up in Genesis, on my third notebook of notes on tiny details, parallelisms, types, “application” type notes, and I feel like I barely scratched the surface! lol
      The more I think I know about God’s Word, the more often He shows me the depth of His Word and the shallowness groove I’ve just begun to dig.

      Like

  2. Heather says:

    Finding answers is wonderful, but I think it’s also a good thing to come away from Scripture with more questions as well. It keeps us coming back for more.

    Let me know if I become annoying.

    Like

  3. Hiram says:

    No annoyance here, Heather :)

    And…I’m with you 100%. I just started Revelation and I can still feel Genesis calling me back.

    Maybe a cross/comparative study?

    Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the sheer intensity of God’s Word. It amazes me that there are some scholars who deal with Scripture so cavalierly.

    Like

involve yourself

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.