A Rant Against the Postmodernization of Scripture – In Two Parts

Paper Cup NOTI. Agree with your adversary…while you are in the way with him…[Matt 5:25]

If you believe that Scripture is an assemblage of unrelated pieces, the rough edges of which have been smoothed over by editors with socio-religio-political agendas, then congratulations: You are a postmodernist. Interestingly, or should I say sadly?, there are many who on the one hand profess faith in Christ, and yet on the other hand believe that Scripture, since it is just one text among many, is but a pliable lump of textual dough to be kneaded and knotted, cooked with philosophical hot-air, and consumed by men of similar tastes. How this is a Christian way of reading the Word of God is beyond my comprehension. I would ask for clarification, but that would leave me with the problem of interpreting the words of the interpreter of God’s Word and there would be no end to this futile and fruitless effort. So I am, alas, left with one of two options: (a.)believe the Word of God or (b.)believe the words of men.

If I believe the words of men, I am not solving the problems such men raise. Rather, I am simply abandoning the hope of ever finding truth; for if truth is a final judgment in matters of doctrine and practice, and such statements are frowned upon by the learned, then it is the judgment of the scholars that holds absolute. Scripture, then, would be in the lecherous grip of the sophistical academics whose wisdom teaches them that wisdom is unattainable, and whose knowledge denies that knowledge is possible.

I have, by the way, the hardest time figuring these teachers out. For they tell me that I can only understand the text of Scripture by their prescribed means; yet they also tell me that I cannot understand Scripture, and that every attempt to clearly articulate what the Scriptures teach is tantamount to committing violence against the Text. What am I to do then? How does one solve this conundrum? Is there any enlightened soul that can help me in this situation?

Whatever the case may be (who knows?!?), if the skeptics know nothing, and yet know that I am wrong, I will give them their contradiction and let them eat it too.

After all, if they agree with me that they know nothing then what will it profit me to have them further confirm their ignorance via the use of their ignorant dialectical sophistry?

I will, therefore, believe God’s Word, and let the ignorant remain ignorant.

II. Contend for the faith once for all delivered unto the saints…[Jude 3]

But assuming that we can make heads or tails of the Bible, we must ask: What does the Bible say on this matter? Is it godly to be ignorant? Is it humble to say that one knows nothing? Or, to take the meeker and milder approach of the more dangerous false teachers, is it humble to say that Christians should not contend for the faith once for all delivered to the saints, seeing as the saints have gotten doctrines wrong in the past?

If the ignorant believe they are right, then they not only contradict themselves but the Scriptures also. But first, let us take into consideration those who judge themselves ignorant, or whom the Scriptures declare ignorant.

The first man to claim ignorance was the murderer Cain. When approached by the Word of God and called to give an account for his hatred of God and neighbor, he boldly lies to the Lord and says: “I do not know; am I my brother’s keeper?”[Gen 4:9b]

The second man to claim ignorance is the murderer and idolater Pharaoh who also boldly lies when he is confronted with God’s Word, saying: “Who is the Lord, that I should obey his voice and let Israel go? I do not know the Lord, and moreover, I will not let Israel go.”[Exo 5:2]

To sum this up, however, I lay this partial verse before the ignorant. The Scriptures say:

If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it?[ Prov 24:12a]

The ignorant are not ignorant; they are suppressing the truth in unrighteousness.

5 thoughts on “A Rant Against the Postmodernization of Scripture – In Two Parts

  1. Justin says:

    I was introduced to your site by Slimjim, who I seem to be stalking across the web. ;-)

    Great stuff here, really. I’ll be spending some time in your archives!

    Justin

    Like

involve yourself

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.