An Update…

Every year, my job forces me to attend a company meeting. This year, we broke out of the drudgery of past meetings by having a guest speaker. I learned a lot of things that I didn’t know before the meeting, including but not limited to the following.

1. The mind and the brain are identical.
2. Morality is relative to one’s gender, socioeconomic class, and various survival needs.
3. Marriage is a socioeconomic construction serving the purpose of selfpreservation.
4. There is nothing wrong with being poor.
5. We should seek to empower the poor so that they can break out of the bonds of generational poverty.

This is the sort of swill I am being paid to listen to today. Sigh. The coworkers are abuzz with their opinions regarding the ideas they are being taught. I feel angry, however, and wonder how it is that a neutral social position (I.e. Poverty, affluence, etc) is supposed to provoke compassion and empathy in our minds. If morality is relative, then the entire event here is useless and, well, irrational.

I’m glad this will be over with in a few minutes.

-h

One thought on “An Update…

  1. Heather says:

    I was going to ask you how points 4 and 5 were reconciled–but I guess you already answered that.

    If morality is relative, then the entire event here is useless and, well, irrational.

    Like

involve yourself

