“So He came and took her by the hand and lifted her up”

29 Now as soon as they had come out of the synagogue, they entered the house of Simon and Andrew, with James and John. 30 But Simon’s wife’s mother lay sick with a fever, and they told Him about her at once. 31 So He came and took her by the hand and lifted her up, and immediately the fever left her. And she served them.

Mark 1:29-31

Lately, it’s been a real struggle for me to muster up the strength to read and write, let alone post anything up here. I’ve been facing internal and external difficulties, and have been somewhat discouraged by it all. Without getting into the details of all that I am facing, however, there is something that I think we all face while walking through difficult times, and that is the question of whether or not our concerns are something that we should even bring to the Lord.

What I mean is this: Like Peter, we all know that we are walking with Jesus, that we’ve all left our nets behind, hopped off our fishing boats, left behind our familial trade in order to be taught and led by Him. Yet, haven’t we all questioned whether or not our problems were valid problems, in light of all that He is doing and planning to do through His disciples?

I think we have.

And I know I have.

But are there any concerns that are invalid because they seemingly have little to do with what we think Christ is doing?

As I read Mark 1:29-31 last night, a single stood out to me. That word was:

“So…”

Being a disciple of the Lord Jesus didn’t keep trouble from coming to Peter’s mother-in-law, but neither did it keep Peter from Jesus from coming to Peter’s house – the very place where the trouble was located. Jesus came to Peter’s house because they told Him about her, and He cared.

It’s really that simple.

He cares.

In the midst of a fast paced passage where a the Messiah is announced, baptized, fought against by the very devil of hell, and casting out demons in public view, Peter brings a concern of his to the Lord – so the Lord goes to address that problem.

What is encouraging is not the idea that the Lord will remove my problems, but the fact that He is concerned, that He does hear, and that He does respond to my seemingly insignificant woes.

-h.

5 thoughts on ““So He came and took her by the hand and lifted her up”

  1. Heather says:

    Been missing your posts.

    Sometimes life does feel incredibly heavy.

    And our Lord does care about our hurts–even in the “little” things.

    I’ll be praying for you.

    God bless,

    Heather

    Like

  2. Doug Oakland says:

    Hiram: Pretty timely stuff. Lately I’ve been feeling pretty overwhelmed myself. Your struggles, discouragement, and difficulties sound very familiar. You’re exactly right in that it’s encouraging to know that God is concerned, and is responding. His responses aren’t usually what I would choose for myself. Then again, my choices have never served me very well. I really appreciate the wisdom and insight that I find here… SO….I am praying that God walks you through this challenging time. Let me know if there’s anything I can do. doug

    Like

involve yourself

